The Research Team

Principal Investigator:

  • Professor Jean McHale , University of Birmingham
    Jean McHale is Professor of Health Care Law and is Director of the Centre for Health Law Science and Policy at the University of Birmingham.


  • Professor Tamara Hervey, University of Sheffield
    Professor Tamara Hervey is Jean Monnet Professor of European Law at the University of Sheffield.
  • Dr Mark Flear, Queen’s University Belfast
    Dr Mark Flear is Senior Lecturer in Law at the Law School at Queen’s University Belfast.
  • Elizabeth Speakman, University of Birmingham
    Elizabeth Speakman is a Research Fellow at the Law School at the University of Birmingham.


Advisory Board

  • Professor Graeme Laurie, Edinburgh Law School, University of Edinburgh.
  • Professor Deidre Madden, University College Cork, Republic of Ireland.
  • Professor Martin McKee, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
  • Ms Tanja Schubert, General Medical Council, UK.
  • Professor Keith Syrett, Bristol Law School, University of Bristol.